My Rant

img_0535

It’s time for art class at the elementary school.  The teacher tells all the students to draw a simple landscape.  The only requirement is that it must include a tree.  All of the students begin their drawings.  The teacher walks up and down the rows checking on each piece of art.  She stops at one little girl.  “Susi, trees aren’t purple.”

Everybody starts out as an artist.  Children love to draw and paint.  The even give their artwork away as gifts.  We live in a world where if something doesn’t look exactly like what it is depicting, it isn’t “good” art.  That mentality stunts creativity.

The best thing about art is that there are no boundaries– it can be anything you want it to be.

 

2 thoughts on “My Rant

  1. Couldn’t agree more. I can’t even tell you how many customers come into my studio and say, “I’m hopeless. My 2nd grade art teacher told me not to even bother and that I have no talent.” Um…what the hell kind of teachers are these?! When people want to change things up in the painting we’re doing, I absolutely encourage it! So much more fun when they make it their own.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

