My Friend

MY FRIEND
I go to school
Everyone tells me how much I suck
Without saying anything
I get everything wrong
Fail every assignment
Say something dumb
Now even less people like me
Very few friends
Pretty much no one
On my side
I go home
On the way thinking
Dang, I screwed up again
My parents find every reason
to be upset
My siblings try to annoy me
I swear,
It’s their goal in life
I go outside
For peace
And quiet
And there he is
He’s so excited to see me
He wags his tail
Tongue hanging from his mouth
To him, I’ve done nothing wrong
He loves me
I wish I could be the person
my dog thinks I am
He sits on my lap
Licks my face
And I smile
That’s all it took

-Levi A. Rodas

img_0530img_0529img_0531img_0432

MY FRIEND (PART TWO)
It isn’t the same
Coming home without seeing you
Or hearing your voice
I go outside
And you aren’t there
Your food bowl is there
Empty
Your dog house is there
Empty
They aren’t supposed to be
Empty
There shouldn’t be birds
You’re supposed to chase them
All the walnuts should be
Hidden, wherever you hid them
I know you had to go
But I don’t like it
There’s an emptiness
Inside me, outside me
Everywhere
My days will be duller
Darker
Gloomier
Without you
For twelve years
I knew you
For twelve years
I loved you
You love me
And now you’re gone
But you have been, you are,
You always will be
My friend

-Levi A. Rodas

100_1270img_0542

Leave a Reply

