Why I’m An Artist First and A Musician Second

For my first 2 years of college, I played the violin in the symphony and had to take violin lessons to keep my scholarship. Week after week I continued to be uninspired and unmotivated. My violin teacher told me he had some suspicions as to why I felt this way. He proceeded to tell me that as an artist, I am always coming up with new ideas. Everything has to be original, creative and new. As a classical violinist, I am required to play the same pieces everybody has been playing for 500 years. Not only that, but they must be played the exact same way too. Crescendos in all the same places. Some people prefer this but I don’t. My brain is different from a musician’s and that is OKAY. There’s nothing wrong with being an artist.

shayleerodas_untitled_photography

Leave a Reply

